Firstly let’s start with what is Gross Margin (also called Gross Profit)
Sales – Cost of Goods Sold (or direct costs) = Gross Profit
So let’s say that a client pays you £100 a month, and you have to get a new user licence for software, for each new client that comes on board, and that costs £20 a month (that is your direct cost) then the gross profit (or gross margin) is £80 per month.
And the gross profit ratio (or gross margin ratio) is that number expressed as a percentage – so in this example it’s:
£80 / £100 = 80%
The markup is the difference between the cost and selling price – so in the example above the cost is £20 per month and has a markup of £80 equaling a selling price of £100. The markup is then often expressed as a percentage of cost so…
In our example…the £80 markup divided by the cost of £20 results in a markup percentage of 400%
Thanks ever so much for taking the time to read my post I truly hope you’ve found it useful and insightful. If you have any questions feel free to contact us!
I am Annette Ferguson, CEO of Annette & Co. Chartered Accountant, Profit First Professional and creator of the Business Wealth Engine. We’re also SUPER social so don’t forget to follow. Here’s to your success!
Reinvesting money in your business is not a bad thing if it is done consciously. Now, what do I mean when I say that it’s